The best AI peer review tools for manuscripts, compared on what they verify
16 tools on eight countable criteria: price, reference verification, retraction screening, reporting-guideline audit, journal-instruction audit, Word-file edits, published sample, data policy. Third-party facts quoted from each vendor's site, 12 September 2026.
Criteria you can check yourself.
We sell one of these tools, so the comparison uses only what can be checked on public pages: each vendor's own statements, quoted. "Not stated" means the site does not say, not "no". Where another tool is the better choice, its profile says so.
16 tools, eight criteria.
| Tool | Price | References checked against PubMed / Crossref | Retraction screening | Reporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …) | Target-journal author-instruction audit | Journal formatting applied as Word tracked changes | Pay per manuscript | No subscription required | Full sample report published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PeerReviewAI | $49 per manuscript | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Manusights | Full Review $39 | Partial | Yes | No | Partial | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Reviewer3 | $11 one-time or $19/month | Partial | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Refine (refine.ink) | $49.99 per review | Not stated | Not stated | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Paperpal | $25/month or $144/year (Prime) | Partial | Not stated | No | Partial | Partial | No | No | Not stated |
| thesify | €14.95 per review | Not stated | Not stated | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| ManuscriptMind | $1 per review credit | Partial | Not stated | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| SciScore | 10 free reports/year (ORCID); 4 more for $19 | No | No | Partial | No | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| q.e.d Science | Free for researchers | Not stated | Not stated | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Enago AI Peer Review Lite | $99 | Not stated | Not stated | No | Partial | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Stanford Agentic Reviewer | Free | Not stated | Not stated | No | Partial | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Review-it | $6.99 per document | Partial | Not stated | No | Partial | Partial | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Jenni AI | Free (3 reviews) · $12/month · $29/month | Not stated | Not stated | No | No | Partial | No | No | Not stated |
| Liner | 60 credits per review on Liner plans | Not stated | Not stated | No | No | No | Partial | No | Not stated |
| Junia AI Peer Review Generator | Free | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Taskade AI Peer Review Generator | Free | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
Pick by the problem, not the brand.
PeerReviewAI: the only tool here with PubMed and Crossref reference verification, retraction screening, a reporting-guideline audit, a journal-instruction audit and formatting as tracked changes. $49, no subscription, full sample published.
Reviewer3, $11 a review or $19 a month unlimited, under 10 minutes. ManuscriptMind, about $1 a credit. thesify, €14.95 a review.
q.e.d Science (free for researchers), the Stanford Agentic Reviewer (machine-learning papers), SciScore (ten free reports a year), free trials at Manusights, Refine and ManuscriptMind.
Enago's AI Peer Review Lite, $99, expert validation in four days. Fully human review: the services price survey.
Journal formatting is a paid add-on at every human service surveyed: AJE from $75, Wiley $75 to $150, Springer Nature $125, Enago $119. No AI tool on this page edits your Word file. PeerReviewAI includes it, as tracked changes in your .docx.
Junia and Taskade generate review-style prose from pasted text. Jenni scores drafts inside its editor. Liner runs a peer-review agent. None describes database reference checks or a checklist audit. Excluded from the matrix: Rayyan, "The World's #1 Systematic Review Platform"; its AI Reviewer screens citations for systematic reviews, not manuscripts. Consensus, "an AI academic search engine for peer-reviewed literature" ("220M+ scientific papers"); it searches published papers, not your manuscript. Scopus AI, Elsevier's "Scopus with AI" "combines trusted, peer-reviewed content with sophisticated AI" for topic summaries and concept maps; a literature tool, not a manuscript checker.
None detects fabricated data, manipulated images or submission fraud, and none replaces editorial judgment. They find manuscript-visible problems: irreproducible methods, mismatched statistics, missing checklist items, references that do not exist or were retracted.
What the reviewer knows before it writes.
| Given to the model | In a chat window | In PeerReviewAI |
|---|---|---|
| Study design | Whatever you tell it | Detected in a first pass; selects the reporting guideline |
| Reporting checklist | Only if you paste it | Retrieved in full; audited item by item |
| Published literature | What the model remembers | PubMed search, roughly 40 million records, for relevant uncited papers |
| Your reference list | Unchecked unless you ask, one by one | Every reference looked up in PubMed and Crossref, retraction screened, before the review is written |
| Target journal | Only if you paste the instructions | Author instructions audited; formatting applied as tracked changes |
| Review structure | Free-form; varies with the prompt | Fixed 16 sections, every time |
| A second read | None | A separate audit pass re-checks the manuscript after the review |
| Your manuscript afterwards | Kept under the plan's retention and training settings | Zero Data Retention; never stored or used for training |
What the $49 pays for.
Up to four model passes: study-design detection, which selects the reporting guideline; the 16-section review; a separate compliance audit after the review is written; journal formatting as tracked changes on your .docx (a fifth pass with the ESL add-on). Plus a PubMed and Crossref lookup for every reference, with retraction screening, and a search of PubMed's roughly 40 million records for relevant uncited papers. A chat plan buys one model turn per message; the cheaper tools deliver one report.
Human pre-submission peer review starts at $272 (Enago) or $289 (AJE); journal formatting alone is $75 to $150. No AI tool in our comparison edits your Word file. Reference verification, the checklist audit and the formatting are all inside the $49.
- ChatGPT Plus: $20 a month, $240 a year.
- Claude Pro: $17 to $20 a month, $204 to $240 a year.
- Google AI Pro (Gemini): $19.99 a month, $239.88 a year.
- Reviewer3 Researcher: $19 a month, $228 a year.
- Review-it Unlimited: $59 a month, $708 a year.
- Paperpal Prime: $144 a year, $144 a year.
- PeerReviewAI: $49 per manuscript, $49 to $147 a year for one to three manuscripts.
Zero Data Retention. No verdict. A full sample review published before you pay. No subscription in the months you are not submitting.
A cheaper tool above if it states the checks you need. PeerReviewAI for the manuscript you are submitting, when references, checklist and journal formatting all need checking.
Each tool in its own words.
16-section review, built for the manuscript you are submitting
- Pricing
- $49 per manuscript, no subscription. Journal Brief $2.99 per paper (first free). ESL add-on $19.99.
- Turnaround
- Minutes; streamed live; PDF downloads at completion
- References
- Every reference checked against PubMed and Crossref; status per reference; retraction screening on every DOI
- Reporting guidelines
- Item-by-item audit against the applicable guideline: CONSORT, SPIRIT, PRISMA and extensions, STROBE, CARE, SRQR, ARRIVE, TRIPOD, SQUIRE, CHEERS, STARD, STREGA
- Journal instructions
- Audit against the target journal's author instructions
- Edits your file
- Journal formatting applied to your .docx as Word tracked changes, included
- Data policy
- Zero Data Retention (Anthropic); never stored or used for training
- Best for
- the manuscript you are about to submit, when you want references, checklist, journal instructions and formatting handled in one pass
In its own words: analyzes manuscripts across 8 dimensions: claims, evidence, methods, figures, citations, journal fit, reviewer risk, and revision priority.
- Pricing
- Free Readiness Scan; Full Review $39; Expert (human) Review tier, 3–7 days, price not shown on the page
- Turnaround
- Readiness Scan about 2–3 minutes; Full Review about 30 minutes
- References
- "claim-level citation verification" with a retraction gate; databases not disclosed
- Reporting guidelines
- No reporting-guideline audit mentioned
- Journal instructions
- Journal-fit assessment; no author-instruction audit mentioned
- Edits your file
- No; diagnostic feedback only
- Data policy
- Manuscripts "not used to train models"; "bounded retention and purpose-limited access"
- Best for
- a quick triage of claims, evidence and journal fit at a low per-review price
In its own words: flags fatal flaws, hallucinated references, unsupported claims, and inconsistencies, then returns one brief report ordered by what matters most.
- Pricing
- One-Time Review $11; Researcher plan $19/month with unlimited full reviews; Teams: contact sales; a free one-time review for inviting a friend
- Turnaround
- "Real feedback in under 10 minutes"
- References
- Citation checks for hallucinated and retracted references; the site claims "98.5% accuracy separating real citations from AI-fabricated ones"; databases not disclosed
- Reporting guidelines
- No reporting-guideline audit mentioned
- Journal instructions
- Not mentioned
- Edits your file
- No; review report only (API and MCP access offered)
- Data policy
- "Your data stays private"; retention and training terms not detailed on the pages captured
- Best for
- the cheapest fast check, and unlimited re-checks of drafts on a monthly plan
In its own words: analyzes academic papers for errors in statistical methods, mathematical reasoning and internal consistency, as a pre-submission quality check.
- Pricing
- 1 Full Review $49.99; 3 for $119.99; 10 for $299.99; first document free; institutional subscriptions separate
- Turnaround
- "Most papers return in 20–40 minutes"
- References
- Not stated
- Reporting guidelines
- Not stated
- Journal instructions
- Not stated
- Edits your file
- No; feedback only
- Data policy
- Content "never used for training"; encrypted storage; pursuing SOC 2 and ISO 27001
- Best for
- papers whose risk is in the mathematics or the statistical derivation itself
In its own words: an AI academic writing assistant whose pre-submission checks cover language and grammar, reference quality, structure and word count, figures and tables, and key metadata and disclosures.
- Pricing
- Prime $25/month or $144/year; Pro $59/month or $348/year (Paperpal help center)
- Turnaround
- Real-time writing assistance; submission-readiness checks run on demand
- References
- "Reference quality assessment" (correspondence, age, quantity, self-citations); verification against external databases not specified
- Reporting guidelines
- Not mentioned
- Journal instructions
- Structural checks (IMRAD, word count); journal author-instruction audit not described for authors
- Edits your file
- Language edits in Word and browser; no journal-formatting tracked changes described
- Data policy
- Not captured on the pages retrieved
- Best for
- day-to-day academic writing help on a subscription, with a readiness check before you submit
In its own words: evaluates thesis strength, evidence, clarity, and alignment with assignment goals for papers and theses up to 100 pages.
- Pricing
- Reviewer: €14.95 single; €39.95 for 3; €99.95 for 10. Coauthor writing workspace €7.50/month billed yearly or €14.95/month
- Turnaround
- "Instant expert review in minutes"
- References
- Research search across "200+ million" references; verification of a manuscript's own reference list not described
- Reporting guidelines
- Not stated
- Journal instructions
- Not stated
- Edits your file
- No; suggestions only
- Data policy
- "Documents are never used to train models"
- Best for
- students and thesis writers who want argument-level feedback at the lowest price per review
In its own words: examines methodology, statistics, and research design, classifies issues by severity, and verifies citations.
- Pricing
- 5 free credits; 5 credits $5; 15 credits $12; 40 credits $28 (one credit per full review)
- Turnaround
- "~3 min for 10k words"
- References
- "Every reference verified. Hallucinated citations flagged" (verified, hallucinated or unverifiable); databases not disclosed
- Reporting guidelines
- Not mentioned
- Journal instructions
- Not mentioned
- Edits your file
- No; feedback only
- Data policy
- Encrypted; "never used to train AI"; deleted 30 days after review or on request
- Best for
- very cheap, very fast severity-graded feedback with a hallucinated-citation flag
In its own words: analyzes methods sections for rigor and transparency: whether antibodies, cell lines, plasmids, organisms and software are described with vendor names, catalog numbers and RRIDs.
- Pricing
- Scientist Author: 10 credits per year free for ORCID users; additional reports 4 for $19. Journal editors: 25 credits $99; 100 credits $399
- Turnaround
- Automated; not stated
- References
- No
- Reporting guidelines
- Checks against MDAR, ARRIVE and NIH rigor criteria for methods reporting
- Journal instructions
- No
- Edits your file
- No
- Data policy
- "purge your data from the SciScore servers as soon as possible … only the report remains in your account"
- Best for
- bench scientists who need a resource-identification and methods-rigor score before submission
In its own words: breaks papers into core claims, surfaces gaps in logic, methodology and internal consistency, and separates novel contributions from established knowledge.
- Pricing
- "free for researchers", no credit card; enterprise: contact sales
- Turnaround
- About 30 minutes (per The Scientist's coverage)
- References
- Not stated
- Reporting guidelines
- Not stated
- Journal instructions
- Not stated
- Edits your file
- No; report only
- Data policy
- "does not train on any manuscripts or grants you upload", but uploads "may be used as input to improve QED's ability to assess whether its feedback is helpful"; deleted projects purged within 30 days
- Best for
- a free logic-and-claims stress test before you spend money on anything else
In its own words: a hybrid review: Enago's proprietary AI generates a report based on standard structured peer review questions, then subject-matter experts validate findings and add commentary.
- Pricing
- $99 (shown as reduced from $149), 4-day delivery
- Turnaround
- 4 days
- References
- Literature review and citation relevance assessed; database verification not stated
- Reporting guidelines
- Not stated
- Journal instructions
- Relevance to target journal audience assessed
- Edits your file
- No
- Data policy
- Not captured on the page retrieved
- Best for
- authors who want a human expert to sign off on an AI-generated report
In its own words: a free research tool that reviews PDFs (first 15 pages) with an optional target venue such as ICLR, NeurIPS, ICML or CVPR.
- Pricing
- "free!"; PDFs up to 10 MB; first 15 pages analyzed
- Turnaround
- Email notification when complete
- References
- Not addressed
- Reporting guidelines
- Not addressed
- Journal instructions
- Venue selection for AI/ML conferences
- Edits your file
- No
- Data policy
- No policy details shown on the page
- Best for
- machine-learning papers headed to a conference, at no cost
In its own words: "the trusted ai peer reviewer workspace for researchers, students, and editors to run comprehensive peer reviews and pre-submission checks" (sic), with section-by-section scores and a journal matchmaker.
- Pricing
- Quick Review $6.99 per document; Trio Review $13.99 per 3; Unlimited Review $59 per month; Paper Fix $13.99 per document; Trio Fix $24.99 per 3; Unlimited Fix $99 per month; the FAQ states there is no free trial
- Turnaround
- Not stated ("in just 3 easy steps")
- References
- "Citation Audit & Hallucination Guard": "Cross-verify literature citations in real-time to flag fabricated references"; the indices used are not named; a separate AI Reference Checker tool is offered
- Reporting guidelines
- "Guideline & Citation Match" refers to citation styles (APA, IEEE, Nature); no reporting-guideline audit is described
- Journal instructions
- Editorial checklist (metadata, abstract format, scope) and a journal matchmaker; no audit against a journal's author instructions is described
- Edits your file
- Fix tiers return edits (a testimonial cites editable DOCX fixes); journal-formatting tracked changes are not described
- Data policy
- "Your manuscript is automatically deleted after the AI-powered peer review is complete"
- Best for
- a cheap per-document score with a journal-fit suggestion, or unlimited reviews on a monthly plan
In its own words: an AI academic writer whose Peer Review feature "scores your draft against standard peer-review criteria and leaves actionable comments directly in your document".
- Pricing
- Free $0 with 3 reviews; Plus $12/month with 10 reviews a month; Pro $29/month with unlimited reviews (USD, pricing page)
- Turnaround
- "Peer review feedback in minutes, not months"
- References
- Flags "citation gaps"; verification against external databases is not addressed
- Reporting guidelines
- Not addressed
- Journal instructions
- Not addressed
- Edits your file
- Inline comments inside Jenni's own editor; no journal-formatting tracked changes described
- Data policy
- Not addressed on the pages captured
- Best for
- authors already writing in Jenni who want reviewer-style scores inside the editor
In its own words: a research AI whose Peer Review agent "organizes the most critical feedback into actionable suggestions" across novelty, rigor, clarity, impact and limitation.
- Pricing
- Peer Review agent: 60 credits per request. Plans: Free $0; Pro $17.99/month ($14.99 billed annually); Max $35.99/month ($29.99 annually); Team $26.99 per seat; Enterprise custom
- Turnaround
- Not stated on the feature page; a Liner article is titled "Submit Stronger Papers with AI Peer Review in 10 Minutes"
- References
- Not stated
- Reporting guidelines
- Not stated
- Journal instructions
- Not stated
- Edits your file
- No
- Data policy
- The page's FAQ asks whether uploaded drafts are protected from Google search; the answer was not captured
- Best for
- researchers already on a Liner plan who want a criteria-based critique; the page claims "Useful comments about 70% aligned with official ICLR 2024 peer reviews", Liner's own figure
In its own words: generates "a journal-style peer review with clear sections: summary, strengths, concerns, and prioritized major and minor revisions" from pasted text.
- Pricing
- "You can generate a complete peer review for free"; some advanced modes are marked premium
- Turnaround
- Instant
- References
- None. The page says the generator "should not fabricate citations" and tells users to check "whether each major concern is supported by the manuscript text"
- Reporting guidelines
- Not mentioned
- Journal instructions
- Not mentioned
- Edits your file
- No
- Data policy
- Not captured
- Best for
- drafting review-style prose from pasted text at no cost; it is a text generator, not a manuscript checker
In its own words: "Paste a manuscript, an essay, or a classmate's draft and get back a peer review you can actually send".
- Pricing
- "included on the Taskade free plan — no credit card, no watermark, no per-document charge"; 6,000 AI credits to start; paid plans from $10/month billed annually
- Turnaround
- Instant
- References
- Not described
- Reporting guidelines
- Not mentioned
- Journal instructions
- Not mentioned
- Edits your file
- No
- Data policy
- Not captured
- Best for
- students and teams drafting feedback documents; a generic generator rather than a manuscript verification tool
Questions, answered.
Don't see yours? Email us — we read every one.
Judge the review, not the matrix.
The complete 16-section sample review is published: methodology, statistics, the per-reference verification table and the reporting-checklist audit, section by section.