Versus · captured 12 September 2026

PeerReviewAI vs Review-it: which checks more of your manuscript?

"the trusted ai peer reviewer workspace for researchers, students, and editors to run comprehensive peer reviews and pre-submission checks" (sic), with section-by-section scores and a journal matchmaker; $6.99 per document. PeerReviewAI: $49 per manuscript for the 16-section review with verified references, checklist and journal audits, and formatting as tracked changes. Review-it's facts are quoted from its site.

$49 per manuscript vs $6.99 per document
Side by side

Ten dimensions, quoted.

DimensionPeerReviewAIReview-it
Price$49 per manuscript, no subscription. Journal Brief $2.99 per paper (first free). ESL add-on $19.99.Quick Review $6.99 per document; Trio Review $13.99 per 3; Unlimited Review $59 per month; Paper Fix $13.99 per document; Trio Fix $24.99 per 3; Unlimited Fix $99 per month; the FAQ states there is no free trial
TurnaroundMinutes; streamed live; PDF downloads at completionNot stated ("in just 3 easy steps")
Output16-section review; PDF and journal-formatted .docx download at completionOverall quality score, section scores from 0 to 100, strengths and weaknesses, suggested fixes, journal-fit matches; the Fix tiers return edits
Reference verificationEvery reference checked against PubMed and Crossref; status per reference; retraction screening on every DOI"Citation Audit & Hallucination Guard": "Cross-verify literature citations in real-time to flag fabricated references"; the indices used are not named; a separate AI Reference Checker tool is offered
Reporting guidelinesItem-by-item audit against the applicable guideline: CONSORT, SPIRIT, PRISMA and extensions, STROBE, CARE, SRQR, ARRIVE, TRIPOD, SQUIRE, CHEERS, STARD, STREGA"Guideline & Citation Match" refers to citation styles (APA, IEEE, Nature); no reporting-guideline audit is described
Target-journal instructionsAudit against the target journal's author instructionsEditorial checklist (metadata, abstract format, scope) and a journal matchmaker; no audit against a journal's author instructions is described
Edits your Word fileJournal formatting applied to your .docx as Word tracked changes, includedFix tiers return edits (a testimonial cites editable DOCX fixes); journal-formatting tracked changes are not described
Data policyZero Data Retention (Anthropic); never stored or used for training"Your manuscript is automatically deleted after the AI-powered peer review is complete"
VerdictNo accept/reject verdictSee the vendor's site
Full sample reportFull 16-section sample review publishedNot found on the pages captured
Facts captured 2026-09-12
review-it.ai/
Matrix

Eight countable criteria.

ToolReferences checked against PubMed / CrossrefRetraction screeningReporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …)Target-journal author-instruction auditJournal formatting applied as Word tracked changesPay per manuscriptNo subscription requiredFull sample report published
PeerReviewAIYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Review-itPartialNot statedNoPartialPartialYesYesNot stated
Verdict

Choose which.

Review-it

A cheap per-document score with a journal-fit suggestion, or unlimited reviews on a monthly plan.

PeerReviewAI

The manuscript you are submitting: references verified, checklist and journal instructions audited, formatting as tracked changes. $49, no verdict, no subscription.

Both

None replaces journal peer review or detects fabricated data; all find manuscript-visible problems before an editor does.

Why the price is different

What the $49 pays for.

Product facts verified in the code that runs the review; prices as captured.
What runs on every review

Up to four model passes: study-design detection, which selects the reporting guideline; the 16-section review; a separate compliance audit after the review is written; journal formatting as tracked changes on your .docx (a fifth pass with the ESL add-on). Plus a PubMed and Crossref lookup for every reference, with retraction screening, and a search of PubMed's roughly 40 million records for relevant uncited papers. A chat plan buys one model turn per message; the cheaper tools deliver one report.

Bundled here, priced separately elsewhere

Human pre-submission peer review starts at $272 (Enago) or $289 (AJE); journal formatting alone is $75 to $150. No AI tool in our comparison edits your Word file. Reference verification, the checklist audit and the formatting are all inside the $49.

Per year, at the captured prices
  • ChatGPT Plus: $20 a month, $240 a year.
  • Claude Pro: $17 to $20 a month, $204 to $240 a year.
  • Google AI Pro (Gemini): $19.99 a month, $239.88 a year.
  • Reviewer3 Researcher: $19 a month, $228 a year.
  • Review-it Unlimited: $59 a month, $708 a year.
  • Paperpal Prime: $144 a year, $144 a year.
  • PeerReviewAI: $49 per manuscript, $49 to $147 a year for one to three manuscripts.
What you keep

Zero Data Retention. No verdict. A full sample review published before you pay. No subscription in the months you are not submitting.

When the cheaper option is right

Review-it ($6.99 per document) if a cheap per-document score with a journal-fit suggestion, or unlimited reviews on a monthly plan is all you need. PeerReviewAI for the manuscript you are submitting, when references, checklist and journal formatting all need checking.

Protected by Anthropic’s Zero Data Retention
Your manuscript is never stored, logged, or used for training.
FAQ

Questions, answered.

Don't see yours? Email us — we read every one.

Compare the reports, not the claims.

The full 16-section sample review is published, reference table and checklist audit included.

For the manuscript you're submitting