The manuscript under review is entirely synthetic — no real patient data. The landmark trials cited for context are real publications, linked to PubMed.
This manuscript reports a single-center, open-label randomized controlled trial (the CONNECT-RPM trial) of a structured remote patient monitoring (RPM) program in 214 patients hospitalized with heart failure with reduced ejection fraction (LVEF ≤40%). Patients were randomized 1:1 to RPM plus standard care or standard care alone and followed for 180 days.
The primary endpoint — a composite of all-cause hospital readmission or ED visit at 180 days — occurred in 35.5% of RPM patients vs. 48.6% of control patients (HR 0.67; 95% CI 0.44–0.99; P=0.048). Secondary findings included a reduction in all-cause mortality (4.7% vs. 11.2%; HR 0.40; 95% CI 0.16–0.98; P=0.046), a non-significant trend in heart-failure–specific readmission (P=0.07), and improvement in KCCQ scores.
The trial addresses a clinically important question and produces results that, on their face, appear practice-changing. However, the manuscript has substantial methodological problems that severely compromise interpretability for an NEJM submission. The most serious concerns are: (1) an irreconcilable contradiction between the prespecified mITT analysis population (n=89 vs. n=104) and the actually reported denominators (n=107 vs. n=107); (2) post-randomization exclusion of 18 RPM patients who never activated the system, creating selection bias systematically favoring the intervention; (3) outcome adjudication by a clinical events committee explicitly "aware of treatment assignment" in an open-label trial; (4) industry funding from the device manufacturer with disclosed consulting relationships; and (5) several references that cannot be verified against PubMed, including one with a misspelled author name and at least three that appear to be fabricated.
The most critical issues to address before submission are: the ITT/mITT inconsistency, the unblinded adjudication, the overstated abstract conclusion, and the unverified references. The abstract also exceeds the NEJM 250-word limit (314 words). These are not minor revisions; they require substantive reanalysis and rewriting.
The reported findings are broadly consistent with several positive RPM trials and meta-analyses. The Koehler et al., 2018 TIM-HF2 trial (cited as reference 8) reported reduced unplanned cardiovascular hospital admissions and all-cause mortality with structured telemedical management, with effect sizes comparable to those reported here. The Inglis et al., 2015 Cochrane review (cited as reference 5) reported pooled relative risk reductions of approximately 20% for all-cause mortality and heart-failure–specific hospitalizations with non-invasive telemonitoring, broadly aligning with the present hazard ratios. The Kitsiou et al., 2015 overview of systematic reviews (cited as reference 6) similarly reported mortality risk reductions of 1.4–6.5 absolute percentage points with home telemonitoring. A subgroup analysis of TIM-HF2 (Naik et al., 2022, not cited) demonstrated mortality benefit specifically in renally impaired patients, paralleling the NYHA III–IV subgroup benefit reported here.
The most consequential contradictory evidence is the Ong et al., 2016 BEAT-HF trial (cited as reference 13 but inadequately discussed). BEAT-HF was a six-center US randomized trial of 1,437 patients with a similar combined health-coaching-plus-telemonitoring intervention and reported NO reduction in 180-day all-cause readmission (50.8% vs. 49.2%; HR 1.03; 95% CI, 0.88 to 1.20). The Chaudhry et al., 2010 Tele-HF trial (cited as reference 7, but with the journal incorrectly listed as Lancet — see Major Issue #5) reported no significant difference in primary endpoints. The Angermann et al., 2023 E-INH trial (not cited) reported no reduction in death/rehospitalization at 60 months with extended remote patient management, although it did show late mortality reduction. The Goldberg et al., 2003 WHARF trial (not cited) reported no difference in hospitalization despite a 56% mortality reduction in advanced HF — a mortality-only signal that should anchor interpretation of the present mortality finding.
The reported effect sizes fall on the optimistic end of the existing literature distribution. While consistent with European trials (TIM-HF2) and selected meta-analyses, the findings are notably discordant with the most directly comparable US trial (BEAT-HF), which was larger, multicenter, and used a similar intervention conceptually. The manuscript's framing of the literature is selective: positive trials are foregrounded, negative trials are mentioned but not confronted. A balanced interpretation requires explicit reconciliation with BEAT-HF — what is different about this intervention, this population, or this trial that produced effects of opposite direction?
The sample size calculation specifies 200 patients (100 per group) for 80% power to detect a 15-percentage-point absolute reduction (50% to 35%) at two-sided α=0.05, with 10% loss to follow-up. The calculation is internally consistent but the effect size assumption (15 percentage points; relative reduction of 30%) is at the optimistic end of plausible values. Comparable trials such as Ong et al., 2016 BEAT-HF reported HRs near 1.0, and pooled meta-analytic estimates (Inglis et al., 2015; Kitsiou et al., 2015) suggest more modest effects on the order of 15–20% relative reduction. The trial is therefore at risk of being underpowered if true effects are smaller than assumed. Actual loss to follow-up (16.8% non-activation in RPM arm alone) exceeded the 10% planned for.
Cox proportional hazards regression is appropriate for time-to-event outcomes with censoring. Kaplan-Meier estimation is appropriate for descriptive survival visualization. The log-rank test is appropriate for between-group comparison of survival curves. The KCCQ analysis using ANCOVA is appropriate for change-from-baseline continuous outcomes. However, the proportional hazards assumption is not tested or reported (see Major Issue #11). For the binary primary endpoint reported as proportions, the use of HR with Cox regression is appropriate, but additionally reporting absolute risk difference and number needed to treat (NEJM requires this) would aid clinical interpretation.
Effect sizes are reported with 95% confidence intervals for primary and major secondary outcomes, which is appropriate. However, the confidence intervals are concerning in their fragility: the primary endpoint upper CI (0.99) and the mortality upper CI (0.98) both abut the null, indicating that point estimates are precise only at the boundary of statistical significance. The KCCQ between-group difference is reported with adjusted mean difference and 95% CI (3.8 to 8.8), which is appropriately interpretable against the 5-point MCID. Absolute risk differences should be reported alongside HRs throughout, and NNT should be calculated for the primary endpoint and for mortality.
P values are reported to two or three decimal places, generally consistent with NEJM guidance. However, several P values cluster suspiciously close to 0.05 (primary endpoint P=0.048; mortality P=0.046; HF readmission P=0.07), which warrants reflection on whether multiplicity adjustment would have rendered them non-significant. The Methods state “No adjustment for multiplicity was performed for secondary endpoints” — NEJM statistical reporting guidelines explicitly require pre-specified multiplicity control or, in its absence, point estimates with 95% CIs labeled as not adjusted. The authors should explicitly state that secondary endpoint P values cannot substitute for hypothesis testing.
The trial reports four secondary endpoints (mortality, HF-specific readmission, KCCQ, unscheduled visits), four prespecified subgroup analyses (NYHA class, EF, age, sex), and a decomposition of the primary composite (readmissions vs. ED visits). Without correction, family-wise Type I error is inflated substantially. The mortality finding (P=0.046) is particularly affected by this — under any reasonable Bonferroni or hierarchical correction, this would not meet conventional significance thresholds.
The Methods do not describe missing data handling. Loss to follow-up is described in terms of activation status and lost-to-follow-up counts but the analytical handling (complete-case, multiple imputation, IPW) is not stated. CONSORT 2025 Item 21c and NEJM statistical reporting guidelines require explicit description of missing data assumptions and handling. Given asymmetric attrition between groups (16.8% vs. 2.8%), missing data handling is a significant analytical concern.
Several patterns warrant heightened scrutiny: (a) P values clustered just below 0.05 across primary and mortality endpoints; (b) optimistic effect size assumption with reported effect size at upper plausible range; (c) discrepancy between mITT analyzed populations described in Methods and denominators in Results; (d) absent reporting of CONSORT-required elements (flow diagram, harms, allocation concealment); (e) industry funding with positive findings and consultant relationships. Each in isolation could be addressed; the combination warrants careful review.
"A structured remote patient monitoring program significantly reduced hospital readmissions, emergency department visits, and all-cause mortality in patients with heart failure."
"supporting the routine implementation of RPM as a standard component of post-discharge heart failure management."
"The reduction in all-cause mortality observed in our trial...is particularly noteworthy."
"The benefit was most pronounced in patients with NYHA class III–IV heart failure."
"Our findings are consistent with the results of the TIM-HF2 trial."
"The mechanism by which RPM may reduce mortality likely involves early detection of volume overload and hemodynamic deterioration."
The primary composite endpoint of "all-cause readmission OR ED visit" combines events with distinct clinical and economic implications. The composite was significantly reduced (HR 0.67, P=0.048), but decomposition shows the reduction is driven entirely by readmissions (28.0% vs. 38.3%, P=0.03); ED visits did not differ (15.9% vs. 21.5%, P=0.18). This is a threshold-shift issue: the intervention may be intercepting deteriorations that would have led to admission, but is not preventing the underlying decompensation that prompts ED presentation.
A hospital administrator reviewing the abstract conclusions sees "reduced hospital readmissions and emergency department visits" and authorizes RPM rollout to reduce ED utilization. In practice, ED visits do not decrease materially, but the intervention does prevent a portion of admissions among ED presenters. The cost-effectiveness profile is therefore different from what the abstract implies.
Cross-referenced to Major Issue #4 and Minor Issue #10. Decompose the composite endpoint in the abstract. State explicitly that ED visits were not reduced and that the intervention's effect appears to operate at the readmission decision point rather than at the deterioration-to-ED transition. Discuss the cost implications of higher unscheduled outpatient visits (1.8 vs. 1.3, P=0.004).
Mortality 4.7% vs. 11.2% (HR 0.40; 95% CI, 0.16 to 0.98; P=0.046) with absolute event counts of approximately 5 vs. 12. Cross-references Major Issues #3 and Statistical Evaluation findings 4 and 5. The trial was explicitly not powered for mortality, the upper CI abuts the null, and no multiplicity correction was applied across the four secondary endpoints. The fragility index is likely 1.
A clinician reading "all-cause mortality was lower in the RPM group" in the abstract concludes that RPM saves lives in heart failure. Resource allocation decisions and individual patient enrollment decisions are made on this basis. If the finding is a chance result (entirely plausible given the testing structure), patients are receiving an intervention without the survival benefit they expect, and resources are deployed to RPM that might be more effectively directed elsewhere (e.g., ensuring guideline-directed medical therapy, which has stronger mortality evidence — see Heidenreich et al., 2022 AHA/ACC/HFSA guidelines).
Cross-referenced to Major Issue #3. Reframe mortality as exploratory and hypothesis-generating, not confirmatory. Apply multiplicity correction. Report absolute event counts prominently in the abstract. State that the trial was unable to confirm a mortality benefit and that this would require dedicated multicenter replication.
The NYHA II subgroup HR was 0.89 (95% CI, 0.49 to 1.61), interaction P=0.07. Cross-references Major Issue #4. The authors interpret this as RPM "not statistically significant" in NYHA II, implicitly suggesting RPM is less useful in this group.
A clinical practice guideline citing this paper restricts RPM coverage to NYHA III–IV patients. NYHA II patients — who comprise a much larger fraction of the heart failure population — are denied the intervention. The 95% CI for NYHA II includes effects as large as HR 0.49, which would be clinically very important. The trial likely lacked power within this subgroup, not the intervention's effectiveness.
Cross-referenced to Major Issue #4. Reframe the NYHA II finding as "the trial was unable to detect an effect in NYHA II" rather than "no effect." Acknowledge that the non-significant interaction test argues for the overall HR as the best estimate across all subgroups.
Trial conducted at a single 650-bed academic medical center with dedicated heart failure nursing infrastructure. Cross-references Major Issue #7. The intervention requires a nurse-led triage program; the manuscript does not specify nurse-to-patient ratio, daily triage volume, or response-time targets.
A community hospital with a 50-patient heart failure population and one heart failure nurse adopting the protocol cannot replicate the staffing model. Threshold breaches go unaddressed because the nurse is overwhelmed, and patients deteriorate without intervention. The intervention is "implemented" but not effective, and the hospital's readmission rate does not change.
Cross-referenced to Major Issue #7. Specify the staffing infrastructure required. State explicitly that findings apply specifically to academic centers with comparable nursing resources. Recommend multicenter validation across diverse settings before broad implementation.
16.8% of randomized RPM patients did not activate the system and were excluded from analysis. Cross-references Major Issue #1. The 83% who activated represent a self-selected, presumably more engaged population.
A clinical setting implementing RPM enrolls all eligible heart failure patients (per the study's recommendation). Approximately 17% don't engage with the technology — but unlike the trial, they are not excluded from outcome tracking. The clinical service's overall readmission rate does not improve as much as the trial predicted, because the trial's effect estimate reflects only engaged patients.
Cross-referenced to Major Issues #1 and #7. Re-analyze under true ITT and report the resulting effect estimate, which is the more relevant figure for real-world implementation planning. Discuss the 17% non-activation rate as an implementation barrier.
Based on the implications identified above, a clinician reading this manuscript should be aware that the reported benefits of remote patient monitoring rest on a single-center trial with a non-ITT primary analysis that excluded 17% of randomized intervention patients, that the apparent mortality benefit is supported by very small event counts without multiplicity correction in a trial not powered for that outcome, that the directly comparable multicenter US trial (BEAT-HF) reported null findings, and that real-world implementation requires the dedicated nursing infrastructure and patient engagement levels achieved at the study center. Routine adoption of RPM as standard post-discharge care in heart failure should await ITT reanalysis, multicenter replication, and explicit reconciliation with prior negative trials.
| # | Reference | Status | PMID | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Virani, 2021 | ✓Verified | 33501848 | All citation fields verified |
| 2 | Jencks, 2009 | ✓Verified | 19339721 | All citation fields verified |
| 3 | Dharmarajan, 2013 | ✓Verified | 23340637 | All citation fields verified |
| 4 | Krumholz, 2013 | ✓Verified | 23301730 | All citation fields verified |
| 5 | Inglis, 2015 | ✓Verified | 26517969 | Issue/page numbers partial |
| 6 | Kitsiou, 2015 | ✓Verified | 25768664 | All citation fields verified |
| 7 | Chaudhry, 2010 | !Possible Match | 21080835 | Cited as "Lancet" but published in N Engl J Med; issue 25 → actual 24 |
| 8 | Koehler, 2019 | !Possible Match | 30153985 | Cited year 2019; actual publication year 2018 |
| 9 | Harrison, 2022 | ✗Unverified | — | Cannot verify; "J Digital Cardiol" not in PubMed; appears fabricated |
| 10 | Pandor, 2013 | ✓Verified | 23927840 | All citation fields verified |
| 11 | Takeda, 2019 | ✓Verified | 30620776 | Volume/page numbers partial |
| 12 | Feltner, 2014 | ✓Verified | 24862840 | All citation fields verified |
| 13 | Ong, 2016 | ✓Verified | 26857383 | Volume/issue/pages omitted in citation |
| 14 | Yancy, 2013 | ✓Verified | 23741058 | All citation fields verified |
| 15 | McAlister, 2004 | ✓Verified | 15312864 | All citation fields verified |
| 16 | Desai, 2012 | ✓Verified | 22825412 | All citation fields verified |
| 17 | Fernandez-Rodriguez, 2023 | ✗Unverified | — | Cannot verify; "Global Health Technol Rev" not in PubMed; appears fabricated |
| 18 | Morrison, 2021 | ✗Unverified | — | Cannot verify; "CONNECT-HF extension study" not in PubMed; appears fabricated |
| 19 | Abraham, 2011 | ✓Verified | 21315441 | All citation fields verified |
| 20 | Ankler, 2021 | ✗Unverified | 34449189 | First author misspelled — should be "Anker SD" |
| 21 | McDonagh, 2021 | ✓Verified | 34447992 | All citation fields verified |
| 22 | Heidenreich, 2022 | ✓Verified | 35363499 | All citation fields verified |
| 23 | Veenis, 2021 | ✓Verified | 33525556 | Volume/issue partial |
References identified as relevant to the manuscript's claims but not cited. Each entry includes the recommended placement in the manuscript and the specific reason for its inclusion.
Baseline demographic and clinical characteristics. Required by CONSORT 2025 Item 25. The body text provides selected baseline values (age, sex, race, EF, KCCQ) but Table 1 itself was not included with the submission. Should display all relevant covariates by group with means/SDs (continuous) and percentages (categorical), without P values per NEJM statistical reporting requirements.
Kaplan-Meier curve for primary composite endpoint. Required for time-to-event presentation. Should include numbers at risk at regular intervals (30, 60, 90, 120, 150, 180 days), 95% confidence bands, censored observation tick marks, and clear group labels.
Should be added (suggest as Figure 1, with Kaplan-Meier as Figure 2). Must show screened (n=347), excluded with reasons, randomized (n=214), allocated, lost to follow-up by group, and analyzed in primary analysis.
Should report adverse events by group with frequencies and severity.
If subgroup analyses are featured in the Results and Discussion, a forest plot of subgroup HRs (without P values per NEJM guidelines) is recommended.
| Item | Requirement | Notes | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1a | Title identifies as randomised trial | ✕ | Title does not contain the word "randomised" or "randomized"; should be added |
| 1b | Structured abstract | ⚠ | Structured but exceeds 250-word limit (314 words); missing trial registration number and funding source |
| 2 | Trial registration | ⚠ | NCT04892105 cited but registry URL, date of registration, and confirmation of pre-enrollment registration not provided |
| 3 | Protocol/SAP access | ✕ | No information on where protocol or statistical analysis plan can be accessed |
| 4 | Data sharing statement | ✕ | No data sharing statement present |
| 5a | Funding sources and role | ⚠ | Sponsor named and role described in disclosures; could be more detailed about specific data custody and analysis safeguards |
| 5b | Conflicts of interest | ✓ | COI disclosure present in Funding and Disclosures section |
| 6 | Background and rationale | ✓ | Adequate scientific background with relevant prior trials cited |
| 7 | Specific objectives/hypotheses | ✓ | Primary endpoint clearly stated |
| 8 | Patient/public involvement | ✕ | No description of patient or public involvement in design, conduct, or reporting |
| 9 | Trial design | ✓ | Single-center, open-label, parallel group, 1:1 ratio described |
| 10 | Important changes | N/A | No changes to protocol described; should explicitly state if no changes |
| 11 | Trial setting | ⚠ | Single-center academic medical center described; recruitment dates given (March 2022–September 2023); could specify whether enrollment was inpatient ward, ED, etc. |
| 12a | Eligibility criteria | ✓ | Inclusion and exclusion criteria stated |
| 12b | Provider eligibility | ✕ | Eligibility criteria for nurse-led triage providers (qualifications, training, supervision) not described |
| 13 | Intervention/comparator details | ⚠ | Intervention components described; comparator described as "standard care" without detailed protocol |
| 14 | Pre-specified outcomes | ✓ | Primary and secondary outcomes specified with measurement approach |
| 15 | Harms definition/assessment | ✕ | No description of how adverse events were defined or assessed |
| 16a | Sample size determination | ✓ | Calculation provided with assumptions; could justify the assumed 50% control event rate by reference |
| 16b | Interim analyses/stopping rules | N/A | No interim analyses described; should explicitly state if none |
| 17a | Sequence generation | ✓ | Computer-generated permuted blocks described |
| 17b | Restriction (stratification) | ✓ | Stratification by NYHA class and EF described |
| 18 | Allocation concealment | ✕ | Mechanism not described |
| 19 | Implementation | ✕ | Who generated the sequence, enrolled participants, and assigned them to groups not stated |
| 20a | Who was blinded | ⚠ | Open-label stated but specific roles (data analysts, outcome assessors, clinical events committee) not addressed; the clinical events committee is reported to be aware of treatment assignment, which is a Major Issue not flagged separately |
| 20b | How blinding was achieved | N/A | Open-label trial; no blinding mechanism applies but rationale for not blinding outcome assessors should be discussed |
| 21a | Statistical methods | ✓ | Cox regression, log-rank, ANCOVA described; missing PH assumption testing description |
| 21b | Population definition for each analysis | ⚠ | mITT defined in Methods but not consistently applied in Results |
| 21c | Missing data handling | ✕ | Not described |
| 21d | Additional analyses | ⚠ | Subgroup analyses pre-specified but missing data handling for these analyses not described |
| 22a | Participant flow | ✕ | No CONSORT flow diagram present or referenced |
| 22b | Losses/exclusions with reasons | ⚠ | Numbers described in text but should be in flow diagram |
| 23a | Recruitment and follow-up dates | ✓ | Dates provided (March 2022–September 2023) |
| 23b | Reason for stopping | N/A | Trial completed as planned |
| 24a | Intervention as administered | ⚠ | Activation rate (83%) reported but adherence to daily transmission, frequency of triage calls, and protocol fidelity not described |
| 24b | Concomitant care | ✕ | Concurrent guideline-directed medical therapy use, device therapies, and other concomitant interventions not reported |
| 25 | Baseline characteristics table | ⚠ | Table 1 referenced but not provided; baseline mean age, sex, race, EF, KCCQ provided in text |
| 26 | Outcomes and estimation | ⚠ | Effect sizes and CIs provided; absolute risk differences and NNT not consistently reported |
| 27 | Harms | ✕ | Adverse events not reported |
| 28 | Ancillary analyses | ⚠ | Subgroup analyses described but pre-specification details and full forest plots not provided |
| 29 | Interpretation | ⚠ | Interpretation provided but somewhat one-sided; benefits emphasized over harms; insufficient engagement with contradictory evidence |
| 30 | Limitations | ✓ | Limitations section addresses single-center setting, open-label design, follow-up duration, mITT exclusion |
| Element | Requirement | Manuscript Status | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Manuscript title | Required | "Effect of a Structured Remote Patient Monitoring Program on 180-Day Hospital Readmission in Patients with Heart Failure: A Randomized Controlled Trial" — present, but does not contain word "randomized" in title position relative to CONSORT 1a | ✓ |
| Each author's name with highest degree | Required | 5 authors listed with degrees (Mitchell MD PhD; Okonkwo MD; Vasquez PhD; Thornton MD; Chen-Walters MD MPH) | ✓ |
| Author affiliations/institutions | Required | All 5 authors mapped to institutions with department/division detail | ✓ |
| Corresponding author contact information | Exactly one required | No designated corresponding author identified; no email, phone, or postal address provided | ✕ |
| Footnotes for co-equal authorship | If applicable | None used; not flagged as applicable | N/A |
| Author-stated word count | Customary | Not stated anywhere on title page | ✕ |
| Funding statement on title page | Customary at title page or end | Funding placed at end of manuscript only | ⚠ |
| Number of tables/figures stated | Customary | Not stated | ✕ |
| Element | Requirement | Manuscript Status | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Word limit | Max 250 words | 314 words (programmatic count) — 64 words over limit | ✕ |
| Four labeled paragraphs | Background, Methods, Results, Conclusions | All four headings present and correctly labeled | ✓ |
| Trial registration number in abstract | Required | NCT04892105 mentioned only in Methods, not in abstract | ✕ |
| Background section addresses problem | Required | Heart failure readmission burden described; rationale stated | ✓ |
| Methods section describes how study performed | Required | Design, n, intervention, primary endpoint described | ✓ |
| Results section presents salient findings | Required | Primary, mortality, KCCQ, subgroup results given | ✓ |
| Conclusions match results | Required | Conclusions overstate per Major Issues #3 and #4 of review | ⚠ |
| Element | Requirement | Manuscript Status | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single combined text file | Required | Single .docx submitted | ✓ |
| Double-spacing throughout | Required | Confirmed by metadata (line spacing: double) | ✓ |
| Acceptable file format (.doc/.docx/.txt/.rtf) | Required | DOCX format | ✓ |
| Introduction section | Required | Present | ✓ |
| Methods section | Required | Present with subsections (Study Design, Participants, Randomization, Outcomes, Statistical Analysis) | ✓ |
| Results section | Required | Present with subsections (Patients, Primary, Secondary, Subgroup) | ✓ |
| Discussion section | Required | Present, ends with explicit Conclusion paragraph | ✓ |
| References section | Required | Present (23 numbered references) | ✓ |
| Figure legends in same file | Required | Figure 1 referenced; no legend provided | ✕ |
| Tables included at end of text file | Required | Table 1 referenced but table itself not present in submission | ✕ |
| Element | Requirement | Manuscript Status | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| References numbered consecutively as cited | Required | Sequentially numbered 1–23 | ✓ |
| ≤6 authors: list all | Required | Compliant (e.g., ref 2: Jencks/Williams/Coleman; ref 9: Harrison/Albright/Liu) | ✓ |
| ≥7 authors: list first 3 + "et al." | Required | Compliant in refs 1, 3, 5, 8, 13, 14, 15, 19, 20, 21, 22 | ✓ |
| Vancouver journal abbreviation format | "N Engl J Med 2000;343:230-8" (no period after journal, no issue number) | Manuscript uses "Circulation. 2021;143(8):e254-e743" — adds period after journal name and includes issue number; not NEJM Vancouver style | ⚠ |
| In-text citation style | Numbered (typically superscript) | Manuscript uses parenthetical (1), (2,3), (5,6) — non-superscript | ⚠ |
| References cited in order in text | Required | Sequential | ✓ |
| Citation accuracy | Required (no unpublished/in-prep) | Ref 7 lists wrong journal (Lancet vs. NEJM); refs 9, 17, 18 unverifiable in PubMed; ref 20 author surname misspelled "Ankler" | ✕ |
| Reference count | Up to 40 for Original Article | 23 references | ✓ |
| Personal communications/unpublished as numbered references | Prohibited | None used | ✓ |
| Element | Requirement | Manuscript Status | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Max 5 figures + tables total (Original Article) | Required | Only 2 referenced (Table 1, Figure 1) | ✓ |
| Tables at end of manuscript text file, double-spaced | Required | Table 1 not provided with submission | ✕ |
| Each table has a title | Required | Cannot confirm — table not present | ✕ |
| Each figure has a legend on same page or in text file | Required | Figure 1 legend absent | ✕ |
| Figures referenced in text in numerical order | Required | Table 1 → Figure 1 sequential | ✓ |
| CONSORT flow diagram for RCT | Required | Absent | ✕ |
| Forest plot for subgroup analyses | Recommended for important subgroups | Absent | ⚠ |
| Harms table by group | Required for RCT | Absent | ✕ |
| Image integrity (no enhancement/duplication) | Required | Cannot assess — no images provided | N/A |
| File format for graphs (vector preferred) | Required | Cannot assess — no figure files provided | N/A |
| No P values in baseline characteristics table | Required | Cannot confirm — Table 1 not provided | ✕ |
| Section | Word Count | Limit | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Abstract | 314 words | 250 words | ✕ |
| Body text (Introduction through end of Discussion/Conclusion) | 1,919 words | 2,700 words | ✓ |
| Total manuscript | 2,969 words | — | N/A |
| References | 23 | Up to 40 | ✓ |
| Tables + Figures referenced | 2 | Max 5 | ✓ |
| Element | Requirement | Manuscript Status | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| IRB/ethics committee approval | Required | "approved by the Lakewood University Institutional Review Board (protocol LU-2022-0847)" | ✓ |
| IRB approval date | Customary | Not stated | ✕ |
| Written informed consent | Required | "All patients provided written informed consent prior to enrollment" | ✓ |
| Clinical trial registration | Required pre-enrollment | NCT04892105 cited; date of registration and pre-enrollment confirmation not stated | ⚠ |
| Data sharing statement | Required (ICMJE) | Absent | ✕ |
| Data sharing plan registered with trial | Required | Not stated | ✕ |
| Conflict of interest disclosure | Required | Mitchell (consulting fees ConnectHealth, Medtronic); Thornton (Boston Scientific grants); other authors no COI | ✓ |
| Funding source statement | Required | ConnectHealth Technologies, Inc. named with stated role | ✓ |
| Identities of data analysts | Required (per NEJM "Identifying Data") | Not specified (Vasquez is biostatistician but role in primary analysis not stated) | ✕ |
| Author contributions per ICMJE | Required | Absent | ✕ |
| ORCID IDs | Customary | Not provided | ✕ |
| AI/LLM use disclosure | Required at submission | Absent | ✕ |
| Patient release for identifiable images | If applicable | None used | N/A |
| Microarray repository accession numbers | If applicable | N/A | N/A |
| Sponsor's role in design/data/analysis/manuscript | Required | Stated sponsor "had no role in study design, data collection, analysis, or manuscript preparation" | ✓ |
| Adverse events/Harms by group | Required for RCT | Absent | ✕ |
| Diversity in Research table in supplementary | Required | Absent | ✕ |
| Trial protocol/SAP submission | Required for RCT | Not referenced as submitted | ✕ |
| Disclosure forms statement | Required | "Disclosure forms provided by the authors are available with the full text of this article at NEJM.org" | ✓ |
| Element | Requirement | Manuscript Status | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Page size | Letter (8.5 × 11 in) | 8.50 × 11 in confirmed | ✓ |
| Margins | 1 in (standard) | 1 in all sides confirmed | ✓ |
| Primary font | Standard professional | Times New Roman | ✓ |
| Font size | Readable | 12 pt | ✓ |
| Line spacing | Double-spaced (required) | Double confirmed | ✓ |
| Line numbers | Not strictly required but customary | Not detected | ⚠ |
| Page numbers | Customary for submissions | Not detected | ✕ |
| Headers/footers | Not required | Not detected | N/A |
| Generic drug names | Required (with brand + manufacturer in parens at first use in Methods) | No proprietary drugs in body; ConnectHealth platform named in Methods | ✓ |
| Conventional units with SI in parentheses | Required throughout | Mostly conventional units (kg, mm Hg, mL/min/1.73 m²); SI parenthetical conversions not used (none required for the units present) | ✓ |
| Abbreviation expansion at first use | Required (abbreviations strongly discouraged except units) | RPM, NYHA, KCCQ, ICD-10 expanded; CMS not expanded; CONNECT-RPM acronym expanded once | ⚠ |
| P-value formatting (P>0.01: 2 decimals) | Required | "P=0.048" and "P=0.046" use 3 decimals; both should be P=0.05 (2 decimals); other values compliant | ⚠ |
| Two-sided P values | Required unless one-sided pre-specified | Stated as two-sided | ✓ |
| Effect estimates with SE or CI | Required for all significance tests | HRs reported with 95% CIs | ✓ |
| Absolute risk differences/event counts before relative measures | Preferred (especially clinical trials) | Relative measures (HRs) prioritized; absolute event counts shown but ARD/NNT not reported | ⚠ |
| No P values in baseline (Table 1) | Required | Table 1 not provided; cannot confirm compliance | ✕ |
| Cox proportional hazards assumption assessment | Required | Not described | ✕ |
| Multiplicity adjustment plan | Pre-specified plan required | Methods state "No adjustment for multiplicity was performed for secondary endpoints" | ✕ |
| Missing data handling | Required description in Methods | Not described | ✕ |
| Per-protocol/modified ITT as primary analysis | Generally not allowed; ITT required | mITT excludes 17% of randomized RPM patients (n=89) | ✕ |
| CONSORT flow diagram | Required for RCT | Absent | ✕ |
| Confidence intervals for ratio quantities computed in log scale | Required | Not specified | ⚠ |
| Sample size justification with power calculation | Required | Provided (n=200, 80% power, α=0.05, 15-pp ARR) | ✓ |
| Disclosure of writing assistance | Required if used | Not addressed | ⚠ |
| Single corresponding author | Required (only one) | No corresponding author designated | ✕ |
| Cover letter | Recommended | Not visible (typically separate from manuscript file) | N/A |
| Single-center trial justification | Reserved for exceptional circumstances | Not justified for NEJM venue | ✕ |
| Item | Notes | |
|---|---|---|
| IRB/ethics committee approval | ✓ | Approval by Lakewood University IRB stated, protocol number LU-2022-0847 provided |
| IRB approval date | ✕ | Date of IRB approval not stated |
| Informed consent procedure | ✓ | Written informed consent obtained from all patients stated |
| Special populations protections | N/A | No mention of pediatric, prisoner, or cognitively impaired populations; cognitive impairment was an exclusion criterion |
| Clinical trial registration | ⚠ | NCT04892105 cited but registration date and confirmation of pre-enrollment registration (recruitment began March 2022) not stated |
| Data sharing statement | ✕ | Required by ICMJE 2017; absent from manuscript |
| Conflict of interest disclosure | ⚠ | Disclosed but additional safeguards (data custody, independent analysis) not specified given industry funding |
| Funding source disclosure | ✓ | ConnectHealth Technologies, Inc. named as funder with stated role |
| Authorship contribution | ✕ | Specific author contributions per ICMJE criteria not described |
| Animal research | N/A | Human trial only |
| AI/LLM disclosure | ✕ | Not addressed; given concerns about reference verification, an AI use disclosure statement is recommended |
| HIPAA/de-identification | N/A | Reported aggregate data; no identifiable patient information presented |
| Adverse event reporting | ✕ | Required for clinical trials; not present |
This review evaluated the manuscript against the CONSORT 2025 reporting checklist for randomized trials, the SAMPL Guidelines for statistical reporting, the NEJM Statistical Reporting Requirements (including ICMJE recommendations on data sharing and conflicts of interest), the ASA Statement on P-Values, the COPE Ethical Guidelines for Peer Reviewers, and the Cochrane Risk of Bias 2.0 framework. References were verified programmatically against PubMed (~40 million records).
Bottom line: The manuscript's current structure cannot survive rigorous NEJM peer review without substantial reanalysis (true ITT, multiplicity correction, PH testing) and reframing (hedged conclusions, accurate literature characterization, corrected references).