Versus · captured 12 September 2026

PeerReviewAI vs Jenni AI: which checks more of your manuscript?

An AI academic writer whose Peer Review feature "scores your draft against standard peer-review criteria and leaves actionable comments directly in your document"; Free (3 reviews) · $12/month · $29/month. PeerReviewAI: $49 per manuscript for the 16-section review with verified references, checklist and journal audits, and formatting as tracked changes. Jenni AI's facts are quoted from its site.

$49 per manuscript vs Free (3 reviews) · $12/month · $29/month
Side by side

Ten dimensions, quoted.

DimensionPeerReviewAIJenni AI
Price$49 per manuscript, no subscription. Journal Brief $2.99 per paper (first free). ESL add-on $19.99.Free $0 with 3 reviews; Plus $12/month with 10 reviews a month; Pro $29/month with unlimited reviews (USD, pricing page)
TurnaroundMinutes; streamed live; PDF downloads at completion"Peer review feedback in minutes, not months"
Output16-section review; PDF and journal-formatted .docx download at completionScores for soundness, contribution and presentation (each out of 4, overall out of 10), strengths, weaknesses, questions for the authors, inline comments tagged by severity
Reference verificationEvery reference checked against PubMed and Crossref; status per reference; retraction screening on every DOIFlags "citation gaps"; verification against external databases is not addressed
Reporting guidelinesItem-by-item audit against the applicable guideline: CONSORT, SPIRIT, PRISMA and extensions, STROBE, CARE, SRQR, ARRIVE, TRIPOD, SQUIRE, CHEERS, STARD, STREGANot addressed
Target-journal instructionsAudit against the target journal's author instructionsNot addressed
Edits your Word fileJournal formatting applied to your .docx as Word tracked changes, includedInline comments inside Jenni's own editor; no journal-formatting tracked changes described
Data policyZero Data Retention (Anthropic); never stored or used for trainingNot addressed on the pages captured
VerdictNo accept/reject verdictSee the vendor's site
Full sample reportFull 16-section sample review publishedNot found on the pages captured
Matrix

Eight countable criteria.

ToolReferences checked against PubMed / CrossrefRetraction screeningReporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …)Target-journal author-instruction auditJournal formatting applied as Word tracked changesPay per manuscriptNo subscription requiredFull sample report published
PeerReviewAIYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Jenni AINot statedNot statedNoNoPartialNoNoNot stated
Verdict

Choose which.

Jenni AI

Authors already writing in Jenni who want reviewer-style scores inside the editor.

PeerReviewAI

The manuscript you are submitting: references verified, checklist and journal instructions audited, formatting as tracked changes. $49, no verdict, no subscription.

Both

None replaces journal peer review or detects fabricated data; all find manuscript-visible problems before an editor does.

Why the price is different

What the $49 pays for.

Product facts verified in the code that runs the review; prices as captured.
What runs on every review

Up to four model passes: study-design detection, which selects the reporting guideline; the 16-section review; a separate compliance audit after the review is written; journal formatting as tracked changes on your .docx (a fifth pass with the ESL add-on). Plus a PubMed and Crossref lookup for every reference, with retraction screening, and a search of PubMed's roughly 40 million records for relevant uncited papers. A chat plan buys one model turn per message; the cheaper tools deliver one report.

Bundled here, priced separately elsewhere

Human pre-submission peer review starts at $272 (Enago) or $289 (AJE); journal formatting alone is $75 to $150. No AI tool in our comparison edits your Word file. Reference verification, the checklist audit and the formatting are all inside the $49.

Per year, at the captured prices
  • ChatGPT Plus: $20 a month, $240 a year.
  • Claude Pro: $17 to $20 a month, $204 to $240 a year.
  • Google AI Pro (Gemini): $19.99 a month, $239.88 a year.
  • Reviewer3 Researcher: $19 a month, $228 a year.
  • Review-it Unlimited: $59 a month, $708 a year.
  • Paperpal Prime: $144 a year, $144 a year.
  • PeerReviewAI: $49 per manuscript, $49 to $147 a year for one to three manuscripts.
What you keep

Zero Data Retention. No verdict. A full sample review published before you pay. No subscription in the months you are not submitting.

When the cheaper option is right

Jenni AI (Free (3 reviews) · $12/month · $29/month) if authors already writing in Jenni who want reviewer-style scores inside the editor is all you need. PeerReviewAI for the manuscript you are submitting, when references, checklist and journal formatting all need checking.

Protected by Anthropic’s Zero Data Retention
Your manuscript is never stored, logged, or used for training.
FAQ

Questions, answered.

Don't see yours? Email us — we read every one.

Compare the reports, not the claims.

The full 16-section sample review is published, reference table and checklist audit included.

For the manuscript you're submitting