Head to head · captured 12 September 2026

Refine (refine.ink) vs Reviewer3: which checks more of your manuscript?

Refine (refine.ink): analyzes academic papers for errors in statistical methods, mathematical reasoning and internal consistency, as a pre-submission quality check. Reviewer3: flags fatal flaws, hallucinated references, unsupported claims, and inconsistencies, then returns one brief report ordered by what matters most. Both quoted from their own sites; PeerReviewAI, a competitor to both, in the third column.

$49.99 per review vs $11 one-time or $19/month
Side by side

Eight dimensions, quoted.

'Not stated' means the vendor's pages did not address it.
DimensionRefine (refine.ink)Reviewer3PeerReviewAI
Price1 Full Review $49.99; 3 for $119.99; 10 for $299.99; first document free; institutional subscriptions separateOne-Time Review $11; Researcher plan $19/month with unlimited full reviews; Teams: contact sales; a free one-time review for inviting a friend$49 per manuscript, no subscription. Journal Brief $2.99 per paper (first free). ESL add-on $19.99.
Turnaround"Most papers return in 20–40 minutes""Real feedback in under 10 minutes"Minutes; streamed live; PDF downloads at completion
OutputFeedback organized by category (accuracy, mathematical reasoning, internal references) with excerpts and suggestionsOne brief report ordered by significance16-section review; PDF and journal-formatted .docx download at completion
Reference verificationNot statedCitation checks for hallucinated and retracted references; the site claims "98.5% accuracy separating real citations from AI-fabricated ones"; databases not disclosedEvery reference checked against PubMed and Crossref; status per reference; retraction screening on every DOI
Reporting guidelinesNot statedNo reporting-guideline audit mentionedItem-by-item audit against the applicable guideline: CONSORT, SPIRIT, PRISMA and extensions, STROBE, CARE, SRQR, ARRIVE, TRIPOD, SQUIRE, CHEERS, STARD, STREGA
Target-journal instructionsNot statedNot mentionedAudit against the target journal's author instructions
Edits your Word fileNo; feedback onlyNo; review report only (API and MCP access offered)Journal formatting applied to your .docx as Word tracked changes, included
Data policyContent "never used for training"; encrypted storage; pursuing SOC 2 and ISO 27001"Your data stays private"; retention and training terms not detailed on the pages capturedZero Data Retention (Anthropic); never stored or used for training
Where they differ

The decisive differences.

Price

Refine (refine.ink) $49.99 per review. Reviewer3 $11 one-time or $19/month. PeerReviewAI $49 per manuscript, formatting included.

Turnaround

Refine (refine.ink): "Most papers return in 20–40 minutes". Reviewer3: "Real feedback in under 10 minutes". PeerReviewAI: minutes; streamed live; pdf downloads at completion.

Verification criteria stated, of five

Refine (refine.ink) 0. Reviewer3 2. PeerReviewAI 5.

Matrix

Eight countable criteria.

ToolReferences checked against PubMed / CrossrefRetraction screeningReporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …)Target-journal author-instruction auditJournal formatting applied as Word tracked changesPay per manuscriptNo subscription requiredFull sample report published
PeerReviewAIYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Refine (refine.ink)Not statedNot statedNoNoNoYesYesNot stated
Reviewer3PartialYesNoNoNoYesYesNot stated
Verdict

Choose which.

Refine (refine.ink)

Papers whose risk is in the mathematics or the statistical derivation itself.

Reviewer3

The cheapest fast check, and unlimited re-checks of drafts on a monthly plan.

PeerReviewAI

The manuscript you are submitting: references verified, checklist and journal instructions audited, formatting as tracked changes. $49, no verdict, no subscription.

All three

None replaces journal peer review or detects fabricated data; all find manuscript-visible problems before an editor does.

Why the price is different

What the $49 pays for.

Product facts verified in the code that runs the review; prices as captured.
What runs on every review

Up to four model passes: study-design detection, which selects the reporting guideline; the 16-section review; a separate compliance audit after the review is written; journal formatting as tracked changes on your .docx (a fifth pass with the ESL add-on). Plus a PubMed and Crossref lookup for every reference, with retraction screening, and a search of PubMed's roughly 40 million records for relevant uncited papers. A chat plan buys one model turn per message; the cheaper tools deliver one report.

Bundled here, priced separately elsewhere

Human pre-submission peer review starts at $272 (Enago) or $289 (AJE); journal formatting alone is $75 to $150. No AI tool in our comparison edits your Word file. Reference verification, the checklist audit and the formatting are all inside the $49.

Per year, at the captured prices
  • ChatGPT Plus: $20 a month, $240 a year.
  • Claude Pro: $17 to $20 a month, $204 to $240 a year.
  • Google AI Pro (Gemini): $19.99 a month, $239.88 a year.
  • Reviewer3 Researcher: $19 a month, $228 a year.
  • Review-it Unlimited: $59 a month, $708 a year.
  • Paperpal Prime: $144 a year, $144 a year.
  • PeerReviewAI: $49 per manuscript, $49 to $147 a year for one to three manuscripts.
What you keep

Zero Data Retention. No verdict. A full sample review published before you pay. No subscription in the months you are not submitting.

When the cheaper option is right

Refine (refine.ink) ($49.99 per review) if papers whose risk is in the mathematics or the statistical derivation itself is all you need. Reviewer3 ($11 one-time or $19/month) if the cheapest fast check, and unlimited re-checks of drafts on a monthly plan is all you need. PeerReviewAI for the manuscript you are submitting, when references, checklist and journal formatting all need checking.

Protected by Anthropic’s Zero Data Retention
Your manuscript is never stored, logged, or used for training.
FAQ

Questions, answered.

Don't see yours? Email us — we read every one.

Or check all of it in one pass.

References verified, checklist and journal instructions audited, formatting as tracked changes. $49, no subscription.

For the manuscript you're submitting