Tool review · from published documentation · captured 12 September 2026

Refine (refine.ink) review: what it checks, what it costs, what it leaves out.

Analyzes academic papers for errors in statistical methods, mathematical reasoning and internal consistency, as a pre-submission quality check. 1 Full Review $49.99; 3 for $119.99; 10 for $299.99; first document free; institutional subscriptions separate. Built from Refine (refine.ink)'s published pages, quoted; we did not run manuscripts through it, and we are a competitor.

$49.99 per review
At a glance

The essentials.

Price

1 Full Review $49.99; 3 for $119.99; 10 for $299.99; first document free; institutional subscriptions separate

Turnaround

"Most papers return in 20–40 minutes"

Output

Feedback organized by category (accuracy, mathematical reasoning, internal references) with excerpts and suggestions

Data policy

Content "never used for training"; encrypted storage; pursuing SOC 2 and ISO 27001

What it states it checks

Eight criteria, with the evidence.

The vendor's own statement, or the absence of one.
CriterionStated?On Refine (refine.ink)'s site
References checked against PubMed / CrossrefNot statedNot stated
Retraction screeningNot statedNot stated
Reporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …)NoNot stated
Target-journal author-instruction auditNoNot stated
Journal formatting applied as Word tracked changesNoNo; feedback only
Pay per manuscriptYes1 Full Review $49.99; 3 for $119.99; 10 for $299.99; first document free; institutional subscriptions separate
No subscription requiredYesNo subscription needed
Full sample report publishedNot statedNot found on the pages captured
Not stated

6 of 8 criteria unaddressed or absent.

  • References checked against PubMed / Crossref: not stated
  • Retraction screening: not stated
  • Reporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …): not offered
  • Target-journal author-instruction audit: not offered
  • Journal formatting applied as Word tracked changes: not offered
  • Full sample report published: not stated
Not stated is not absent

We score only what a vendor states on its own site. Vendors: send an updated URL to support@peerreviewai.org and we re-capture.

Fit

Where Refine (refine.ink) fits.

Refine (refine.ink) for

Papers whose risk is in the mathematics or the statistical derivation itself.

Look elsewhere for

References checked against pubmed / crossref; retraction screening; reporting-guideline audit; target-journal author-instruction audit; journal formatting applied as word tracked changes; full sample report published. PeerReviewAI states all eight for $49 per manuscript.

Compared with PeerReviewAI

Same criteria, side by side.

ToolReferences checked against PubMed / CrossrefRetraction screeningReporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …)Target-journal author-instruction auditJournal formatting applied as Word tracked changesPay per manuscriptNo subscription requiredFull sample report published
PeerReviewAIYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Refine (refine.ink)Not statedNot statedNoNoNoYesYesNot stated
Why the price is different

What the $49 pays for.

Product facts verified in the code that runs the review; prices as captured.
What runs on every review

Up to four model passes: study-design detection, which selects the reporting guideline; the 16-section review; a separate compliance audit after the review is written; journal formatting as tracked changes on your .docx (a fifth pass with the ESL add-on). Plus a PubMed and Crossref lookup for every reference, with retraction screening, and a search of PubMed's roughly 40 million records for relevant uncited papers. A chat plan buys one model turn per message; the cheaper tools deliver one report.

Bundled here, priced separately elsewhere

Human pre-submission peer review starts at $272 (Enago) or $289 (AJE); journal formatting alone is $75 to $150. No AI tool in our comparison edits your Word file. Reference verification, the checklist audit and the formatting are all inside the $49.

Per year, at the captured prices
  • ChatGPT Plus: $20 a month, $240 a year.
  • Claude Pro: $17 to $20 a month, $204 to $240 a year.
  • Google AI Pro (Gemini): $19.99 a month, $239.88 a year.
  • Reviewer3 Researcher: $19 a month, $228 a year.
  • Review-it Unlimited: $59 a month, $708 a year.
  • Paperpal Prime: $144 a year, $144 a year.
  • PeerReviewAI: $49 per manuscript, $49 to $147 a year for one to three manuscripts.
What you keep

Zero Data Retention. No verdict. A full sample review published before you pay. No subscription in the months you are not submitting.

When the cheaper option is right

Refine (refine.ink) ($49.99 per review) if papers whose risk is in the mathematics or the statistical derivation itself is all you need. PeerReviewAI for the manuscript you are submitting, when references, checklist and journal formatting all need checking.

Method

How this review was made.

  • Sources: Refine (refine.ink)'s public pages, captured 12 September 2026, linked above. Prices as displayed.
  • Not done: no manuscripts were run through Refine (refine.ink); this page documents scope, price and stated policy, not output quality.
  • Conflict: PeerReviewAI competes with Refine (refine.ink), so every fact is a quote with a source link, on the same eight criteria we publish for ourselves.
Protected by Anthropic’s Zero Data Retention
Your manuscript is never stored, logged, or used for training.
FAQ

Questions, answered.

Don't see yours? Email us — we read every one.

Compare the reports, not the claims.

The full 16-section sample review is published, reference table and checklist audit included.

For the manuscript you're submitting