Alternatives · captured 12 September 2026

Refine (refine.ink) alternatives for pre-submission manuscript review

Analyzes academic papers for errors in statistical methods, mathematical reasoning and internal consistency, as a pre-submission quality check; 1 Full Review $49.99; 3 for $119.99; 10 for $299.99; first document free; institutional subscriptions separate. Every other tool, ranked by the verifiable checks it states on its own site.

Ranked by stated checks

15 alternatives to Refine (refine.ink).

Marks: references checked, retraction screening, guideline audit, journal-instruction audit, edits your file. Ties keep vendor order.
01PeerReviewAI
$49 per manuscript

16-section review of the manuscript you are submitting. Every reference checked against PubMed and Crossref; status per reference; retraction screening on every DOI. Journal formatting applied to your .docx as Word tracked changes, included. Zero Data Retention (Anthropic); never stored or used for training.

YesYesYesYesYesHow it works
02Manusights
Full Review $39

Analyzes manuscripts across 8 dimensions: claims, evidence, methods, figures, citations, journal fit, reviewer risk, and revision priority. Free Readiness Scan; Full Review $39; Expert (human) Review tier, 3–7 days, price not shown on the page. Best for a quick triage of claims, evidence and journal fit at a low per-review price.

PartialYesNoPartialNoVendor site ↗
03Reviewer3
$11 one-time or $19/month

Flags fatal flaws, hallucinated references, unsupported claims, and inconsistencies, then returns one brief report ordered by what matters most. One-Time Review $11; Researcher plan $19/month with unlimited full reviews; Teams: contact sales; a free one-time review for inviting a friend. Best for the cheapest fast check, and unlimited re-checks of drafts on a monthly plan.

PartialYesNoNoNoVendor site ↗
04Review-it
$6.99 per document

"the trusted ai peer reviewer workspace for researchers, students, and editors to run comprehensive peer reviews and pre-submission checks" (sic), with section-by-section scores and a journal matchmaker. Quick Review $6.99 per document; Trio Review $13.99 per 3; Unlimited Review $59 per month; Paper Fix $13.99 per document; Trio Fix $24.99 per 3; Unlimited Fix $99 per month; the FAQ states there is no free trial. Best for a cheap per-document score with a journal-fit suggestion, or unlimited reviews on a monthly plan.

PartialNot statedNoPartialPartialVendor site ↗
05ManuscriptMind
$1 per review credit

Examines methodology, statistics, and research design, classifies issues by severity, and verifies citations. 5 free credits; 5 credits $5; 15 credits $12; 40 credits $28 (one credit per full review). Best for very cheap, very fast severity-graded feedback with a hallucinated-citation flag.

PartialNot statedNoNoNoVendor site ↗
06SciScore
10 free reports/year (ORCID); 4 more for $19

Analyzes methods sections for rigor and transparency: whether antibodies, cell lines, plasmids, organisms and software are described with vendor names, catalog numbers and RRIDs. Scientist Author: 10 credits per year free for ORCID users; additional reports 4 for $19. Journal editors: 25 credits $99; 100 credits $399. Best for bench scientists who need a resource-identification and methods-rigor score before submission.

NoNoPartialNoNoVendor site ↗
07Enago AI Peer Review Lite
$99

A hybrid review: Enago's proprietary AI generates a report based on standard structured peer review questions, then subject-matter experts validate findings and add commentary. $99 (shown as reduced from $149), 4-day delivery. Best for authors who want a human expert to sign off on an AI-generated report.

Not statedNot statedNoPartialNoVendor site ↗
08Stanford Agentic Reviewer
Free

A free research tool that reviews PDFs (first 15 pages) with an optional target venue such as ICLR, NeurIPS, ICML or CVPR. "free!"; PDFs up to 10 MB; first 15 pages analyzed. Best for machine-learning papers headed to a conference, at no cost.

Not statedNot statedNoPartialNoVendor site ↗
09thesify
€14.95 per review

Evaluates thesis strength, evidence, clarity, and alignment with assignment goals for papers and theses up to 100 pages. Reviewer: €14.95 single; €39.95 for 3; €99.95 for 10. Coauthor writing workspace €7.50/month billed yearly or €14.95/month. Best for students and thesis writers who want argument-level feedback at the lowest price per review.

Not statedNot statedNoNoNoVendor site ↗
10q.e.d Science
Free for researchers

Breaks papers into core claims, surfaces gaps in logic, methodology and internal consistency, and separates novel contributions from established knowledge. "free for researchers", no credit card; enterprise: contact sales. Best for a free logic-and-claims stress test before you spend money on anything else.

Not statedNot statedNoNoNoVendor site ↗
11Junia AI Peer Review Generator
Free

Generates "a journal-style peer review with clear sections: summary, strengths, concerns, and prioritized major and minor revisions" from pasted text. "You can generate a complete peer review for free"; some advanced modes are marked premium. Best for drafting review-style prose from pasted text at no cost; it is a text generator, not a manuscript checker.

NoNoNoNoNoVendor site ↗
12Taskade AI Peer Review Generator
Free

"Paste a manuscript, an essay, or a classmate's draft and get back a peer review you can actually send". "included on the Taskade free plan — no credit card, no watermark, no per-document charge"; 6,000 AI credits to start; paid plans from $10/month billed annually. Best for students and teams drafting feedback documents; a generic generator rather than a manuscript verification tool.

NoNoNoNoNoVendor site ↗
13Paperpal
$25/month or $144/year (Prime)

An AI academic writing assistant whose pre-submission checks cover language and grammar, reference quality, structure and word count, figures and tables, and key metadata and disclosures. Prime $25/month or $144/year; Pro $59/month or $348/year (Paperpal help center). Best for day-to-day academic writing help on a subscription, with a readiness check before you submit.

PartialNot statedNoPartialPartialVendor site ↗
14Jenni AI
Free (3 reviews) · $12/month · $29/month

An AI academic writer whose Peer Review feature "scores your draft against standard peer-review criteria and leaves actionable comments directly in your document". Free $0 with 3 reviews; Plus $12/month with 10 reviews a month; Pro $29/month with unlimited reviews (USD, pricing page). Best for authors already writing in Jenni who want reviewer-style scores inside the editor.

Not statedNot statedNoNoPartialVendor site ↗
15Liner
60 credits per review on Liner plans

A research AI whose Peer Review agent "organizes the most critical feedback into actionable suggestions" across novelty, rigor, clarity, impact and limitation. Peer Review agent: 60 credits per request. Plans: Free $0; Pro $17.99/month ($14.99 billed annually); Max $35.99/month ($29.99 annually); Team $26.99 per seat; Enterprise custom. Best for researchers already on a Liner plan who want a criteria-based critique; the page claims "Useful comments about 70% aligned with official ICLR 2024 peer reviews", Liner's own figure.

Not statedNot statedNoNoNoVendor site ↗
How to choose

Three questions before you pay.

  • Verified or assessed? Checked against PubMed or Crossref with retraction screening, or scored for "quality". Different jobs.
  • Which checklist? Trials need CONSORT, observational studies STROBE, systematic reviews PRISMA. Editors look for the missing items first.
  • What happens to the file? A report, or edits in your .docx you accept or reject. And read the data policy, quoted for every tool here.
Why the price is different

What the $49 pays for.

Product facts verified in the code that runs the review; prices as captured.
What runs on every review

Up to four model passes: study-design detection, which selects the reporting guideline; the 16-section review; a separate compliance audit after the review is written; journal formatting as tracked changes on your .docx (a fifth pass with the ESL add-on). Plus a PubMed and Crossref lookup for every reference, with retraction screening, and a search of PubMed's roughly 40 million records for relevant uncited papers. A chat plan buys one model turn per message; the cheaper tools deliver one report.

Bundled here, priced separately elsewhere

Human pre-submission peer review starts at $272 (Enago) or $289 (AJE); journal formatting alone is $75 to $150. No AI tool in our comparison edits your Word file. Reference verification, the checklist audit and the formatting are all inside the $49.

Per year, at the captured prices
  • ChatGPT Plus: $20 a month, $240 a year.
  • Claude Pro: $17 to $20 a month, $204 to $240 a year.
  • Google AI Pro (Gemini): $19.99 a month, $239.88 a year.
  • Reviewer3 Researcher: $19 a month, $228 a year.
  • Review-it Unlimited: $59 a month, $708 a year.
  • Paperpal Prime: $144 a year, $144 a year.
  • PeerReviewAI: $49 per manuscript, $49 to $147 a year for one to three manuscripts.
What you keep

Zero Data Retention. No verdict. A full sample review published before you pay. No subscription in the months you are not submitting.

When the cheaper option is right

A cheaper tool above if it states the checks you need. PeerReviewAI for the manuscript you are submitting, when references, checklist and journal formatting all need checking.

Protected by Anthropic’s Zero Data Retention
Your manuscript is never stored, logged, or used for training.
FAQ

Questions, answered.

Don't see yours? Email us — we read every one.

See a full review first.

The complete 16-section sample review is published, section by section.

For the manuscript you're submitting