Head to head · captured 12 September 2026

Manusights vs q.e.d Science: which checks more of your manuscript?

Manusights: analyzes manuscripts across 8 dimensions: claims, evidence, methods, figures, citations, journal fit, reviewer risk, and revision priority. q.e.d Science: breaks papers into core claims, surfaces gaps in logic, methodology and internal consistency, and separates novel contributions from established knowledge. Both quoted from their own sites; PeerReviewAI, a competitor to both, in the third column.

Full Review $39 vs Free for researchers
Side by side

Eight dimensions, quoted.

'Not stated' means the vendor's pages did not address it.
DimensionManusightsq.e.d SciencePeerReviewAI
PriceFree Readiness Scan; Full Review $39; Expert (human) Review tier, 3–7 days, price not shown on the page"free for researchers", no credit card; enterprise: contact sales$49 per manuscript, no subscription. Journal Brief $2.99 per paper (first free). ESL add-on $19.99.
TurnaroundReadiness Scan about 2–3 minutes; Full Review about 30 minutesAbout 30 minutes (per The Scientist's coverage)Minutes; streamed live; PDF downloads at completion
Output.docx report with score, top risks and revision prioritiesClaim-tree review with tailored fixes; also grant-proposal feedback16-section review; PDF and journal-formatted .docx download at completion
Reference verification"claim-level citation verification" with a retraction gate; databases not disclosedNot statedEvery reference checked against PubMed and Crossref; status per reference; retraction screening on every DOI
Reporting guidelinesNo reporting-guideline audit mentionedNot statedItem-by-item audit against the applicable guideline: CONSORT, SPIRIT, PRISMA and extensions, STROBE, CARE, SRQR, ARRIVE, TRIPOD, SQUIRE, CHEERS, STARD, STREGA
Target-journal instructionsJournal-fit assessment; no author-instruction audit mentionedNot statedAudit against the target journal's author instructions
Edits your Word fileNo; diagnostic feedback onlyNo; report onlyJournal formatting applied to your .docx as Word tracked changes, included
Data policyManuscripts "not used to train models"; "bounded retention and purpose-limited access""does not train on any manuscripts or grants you upload", but uploads "may be used as input to improve QED's ability to assess whether its feedback is helpful"; deleted projects purged within 30 daysZero Data Retention (Anthropic); never stored or used for training
Where they differ

The decisive differences.

Price

Manusights Full Review $39. q.e.d Science Free for researchers. PeerReviewAI $49 per manuscript, formatting included.

Turnaround

Manusights: Readiness Scan about 2–3 minutes; Full Review about 30 minutes. q.e.d Science: About 30 minutes (per The Scientist's coverage). PeerReviewAI: minutes; streamed live; pdf downloads at completion.

Verification criteria stated, of five

Manusights 3. q.e.d Science 0. PeerReviewAI 5.

Matrix

Eight countable criteria.

ToolReferences checked against PubMed / CrossrefRetraction screeningReporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …)Target-journal author-instruction auditJournal formatting applied as Word tracked changesPay per manuscriptNo subscription requiredFull sample report published
PeerReviewAIYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
ManusightsPartialYesNoPartialNoYesYesNot stated
q.e.d ScienceNot statedNot statedNoNoNoYesYesNot stated
Verdict

Choose which.

Manusights

A quick triage of claims, evidence and journal fit at a low per-review price.

q.e.d Science

A free logic-and-claims stress test before you spend money on anything else.

PeerReviewAI

The manuscript you are submitting: references verified, checklist and journal instructions audited, formatting as tracked changes. $49, no verdict, no subscription.

All three

None replaces journal peer review or detects fabricated data; all find manuscript-visible problems before an editor does.

Why the price is different

What the $49 pays for.

Product facts verified in the code that runs the review; prices as captured.
What runs on every review

Up to four model passes: study-design detection, which selects the reporting guideline; the 16-section review; a separate compliance audit after the review is written; journal formatting as tracked changes on your .docx (a fifth pass with the ESL add-on). Plus a PubMed and Crossref lookup for every reference, with retraction screening, and a search of PubMed's roughly 40 million records for relevant uncited papers. A chat plan buys one model turn per message; the cheaper tools deliver one report.

Bundled here, priced separately elsewhere

Human pre-submission peer review starts at $272 (Enago) or $289 (AJE); journal formatting alone is $75 to $150. No AI tool in our comparison edits your Word file. Reference verification, the checklist audit and the formatting are all inside the $49.

Per year, at the captured prices
  • ChatGPT Plus: $20 a month, $240 a year.
  • Claude Pro: $17 to $20 a month, $204 to $240 a year.
  • Google AI Pro (Gemini): $19.99 a month, $239.88 a year.
  • Reviewer3 Researcher: $19 a month, $228 a year.
  • Review-it Unlimited: $59 a month, $708 a year.
  • Paperpal Prime: $144 a year, $144 a year.
  • PeerReviewAI: $49 per manuscript, $49 to $147 a year for one to three manuscripts.
What you keep

Zero Data Retention. No verdict. A full sample review published before you pay. No subscription in the months you are not submitting.

When the cheaper option is right

Manusights (Full Review $39) if a quick triage of claims, evidence and journal fit at a low per-review price is all you need. q.e.d Science (Free for researchers) if a free logic-and-claims stress test before you spend money on anything else is all you need. PeerReviewAI for the manuscript you are submitting, when references, checklist and journal formatting all need checking.

Protected by Anthropic’s Zero Data Retention
Your manuscript is never stored, logged, or used for training.
FAQ

Questions, answered.

Don't see yours? Email us — we read every one.

Or check all of it in one pass.

References verified, checklist and journal instructions audited, formatting as tracked changes. $49, no subscription.

For the manuscript you're submitting