Tool review · from published documentation · captured 12 September 2026

Manusights review: what it checks, what it costs, what it leaves out.

Analyzes manuscripts across 8 dimensions: claims, evidence, methods, figures, citations, journal fit, reviewer risk, and revision priority. Free Readiness Scan; Full Review $39; Expert (human) Review tier, 3–7 days, price not shown on the page. Built from Manusights's published pages, quoted; we did not run manuscripts through it, and we are a competitor.

Full Review $39
At a glance

The essentials.

Price

Free Readiness Scan; Full Review $39; Expert (human) Review tier, 3–7 days, price not shown on the page

Turnaround

Readiness Scan about 2–3 minutes; Full Review about 30 minutes

Output

.docx report with score, top risks and revision priorities

Data policy

Manuscripts "not used to train models"; "bounded retention and purpose-limited access"

Facts captured 2026-09-12
manusights.com/
What it states it checks

Eight criteria, with the evidence.

The vendor's own statement, or the absence of one.
CriterionStated?On Manusights's site
References checked against PubMed / CrossrefPartial"claim-level citation verification" with a retraction gate; databases not disclosed
Retraction screeningYesDescribed
Reporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …)NoNo reporting-guideline audit mentioned
Target-journal author-instruction auditPartialJournal-fit assessment; no author-instruction audit mentioned
Journal formatting applied as Word tracked changesNoNo; diagnostic feedback only
Pay per manuscriptYesFree Readiness Scan; Full Review $39; Expert (human) Review tier, 3–7 days, price not shown on the page
No subscription requiredYesNo subscription needed
Full sample report publishedNot statedNot found on the pages captured
Not stated

3 of 8 criteria unaddressed or absent.

  • Reporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …): not offered
  • Journal formatting applied as Word tracked changes: not offered
  • Full sample report published: not stated
Not stated is not absent

We score only what a vendor states on its own site. Vendors: send an updated URL to support@peerreviewai.org and we re-capture.

Fit

Where Manusights fits.

Manusights for

A quick triage of claims, evidence and journal fit at a low per-review price.

Look elsewhere for

Reporting-guideline audit; journal formatting applied as word tracked changes; full sample report published. PeerReviewAI states all eight for $49 per manuscript.

Compared with PeerReviewAI

Same criteria, side by side.

ToolReferences checked against PubMed / CrossrefRetraction screeningReporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …)Target-journal author-instruction auditJournal formatting applied as Word tracked changesPay per manuscriptNo subscription requiredFull sample report published
PeerReviewAIYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
ManusightsPartialYesNoPartialNoYesYesNot stated
Why the price is different

What the $49 pays for.

Product facts verified in the code that runs the review; prices as captured.
What runs on every review

Up to four model passes: study-design detection, which selects the reporting guideline; the 16-section review; a separate compliance audit after the review is written; journal formatting as tracked changes on your .docx (a fifth pass with the ESL add-on). Plus a PubMed and Crossref lookup for every reference, with retraction screening, and a search of PubMed's roughly 40 million records for relevant uncited papers. A chat plan buys one model turn per message; the cheaper tools deliver one report.

Bundled here, priced separately elsewhere

Human pre-submission peer review starts at $272 (Enago) or $289 (AJE); journal formatting alone is $75 to $150. No AI tool in our comparison edits your Word file. Reference verification, the checklist audit and the formatting are all inside the $49.

Per year, at the captured prices
  • ChatGPT Plus: $20 a month, $240 a year.
  • Claude Pro: $17 to $20 a month, $204 to $240 a year.
  • Google AI Pro (Gemini): $19.99 a month, $239.88 a year.
  • Reviewer3 Researcher: $19 a month, $228 a year.
  • Review-it Unlimited: $59 a month, $708 a year.
  • Paperpal Prime: $144 a year, $144 a year.
  • PeerReviewAI: $49 per manuscript, $49 to $147 a year for one to three manuscripts.
What you keep

Zero Data Retention. No verdict. A full sample review published before you pay. No subscription in the months you are not submitting.

When the cheaper option is right

Manusights (Full Review $39) if a quick triage of claims, evidence and journal fit at a low per-review price is all you need. PeerReviewAI for the manuscript you are submitting, when references, checklist and journal formatting all need checking.

Method

How this review was made.

  • Sources: Manusights's public pages, captured 12 September 2026, linked above. Prices as displayed.
  • Not done: no manuscripts were run through Manusights; this page documents scope, price and stated policy, not output quality.
  • Conflict: PeerReviewAI competes with Manusights, so every fact is a quote with a source link, on the same eight criteria we publish for ourselves.
Protected by Anthropic’s Zero Data Retention
Your manuscript is never stored, logged, or used for training.
FAQ

Questions, answered.

Don't see yours? Email us — we read every one.

Compare the reports, not the claims.

The full 16-section sample review is published, reference table and checklist audit included.

For the manuscript you're submitting