Tool review · from published documentation · captured 12 September 2026

Paperpal review: what it checks, what it costs, what it leaves out.

An AI academic writing assistant whose pre-submission checks cover language and grammar, reference quality, structure and word count, figures and tables, and key metadata and disclosures. Prime $25/month or $144/year; Pro $59/month or $348/year (Paperpal help center). Built from Paperpal's published pages, quoted; we did not run manuscripts through it, and we are a competitor.

$25/month or $144/year (Prime)
At a glance

The essentials.

Price

Prime $25/month or $144/year; Pro $59/month or $348/year (Paperpal help center)

Turnaround

Real-time writing assistance; submission-readiness checks run on demand

Output

In-editor suggestions and a readiness report

Data policy

Not captured on the pages retrieved

What it states it checks

Eight criteria, with the evidence.

The vendor's own statement, or the absence of one.
CriterionStated?On Paperpal's site
References checked against PubMed / CrossrefPartial"Reference quality assessment" (correspondence, age, quantity, self-citations); verification against external databases not specified
Retraction screeningNot statedNot stated
Reporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …)NoNot mentioned
Target-journal author-instruction auditPartialStructural checks (IMRAD, word count); journal author-instruction audit not described for authors
Journal formatting applied as Word tracked changesPartialLanguage edits in Word and browser; no journal-formatting tracked changes described
Pay per manuscriptNoPrime $25/month or $144/year; Pro $59/month or $348/year (Paperpal help center)
No subscription requiredNoSubscription plans
Full sample report publishedNot statedNot found on the pages captured
Not stated

5 of 8 criteria unaddressed or absent.

  • Retraction screening: not stated
  • Reporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …): not offered
  • Pay per manuscript: not offered
  • No subscription required: not offered
  • Full sample report published: not stated
Not stated is not absent

We score only what a vendor states on its own site. Vendors: send an updated URL to support@peerreviewai.org and we re-capture.

Fit

Where Paperpal fits.

Paperpal for

Day-to-day academic writing help on a subscription, with a readiness check before you submit.

Look elsewhere for

Retraction screening; reporting-guideline audit; pay per manuscript; no subscription required; full sample report published. PeerReviewAI states all eight for $49 per manuscript.

Compared with PeerReviewAI

Same criteria, side by side.

ToolReferences checked against PubMed / CrossrefRetraction screeningReporting-guideline audit (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA …)Target-journal author-instruction auditJournal formatting applied as Word tracked changesPay per manuscriptNo subscription requiredFull sample report published
PeerReviewAIYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
PaperpalPartialNot statedNoPartialPartialNoNoNot stated
Why the price is different

What the $49 pays for.

Product facts verified in the code that runs the review; prices as captured.
What runs on every review

Up to four model passes: study-design detection, which selects the reporting guideline; the 16-section review; a separate compliance audit after the review is written; journal formatting as tracked changes on your .docx (a fifth pass with the ESL add-on). Plus a PubMed and Crossref lookup for every reference, with retraction screening, and a search of PubMed's roughly 40 million records for relevant uncited papers. A chat plan buys one model turn per message; the cheaper tools deliver one report.

Bundled here, priced separately elsewhere

Human pre-submission peer review starts at $272 (Enago) or $289 (AJE); journal formatting alone is $75 to $150. No AI tool in our comparison edits your Word file. Reference verification, the checklist audit and the formatting are all inside the $49.

Per year, at the captured prices
  • ChatGPT Plus: $20 a month, $240 a year.
  • Claude Pro: $17 to $20 a month, $204 to $240 a year.
  • Google AI Pro (Gemini): $19.99 a month, $239.88 a year.
  • Reviewer3 Researcher: $19 a month, $228 a year.
  • Review-it Unlimited: $59 a month, $708 a year.
  • Paperpal Prime: $144 a year, $144 a year.
  • PeerReviewAI: $49 per manuscript, $49 to $147 a year for one to three manuscripts.
What you keep

Zero Data Retention. No verdict. A full sample review published before you pay. No subscription in the months you are not submitting.

When the cheaper option is right

Paperpal ($25/month or $144/year (Prime)) if day-to-day academic writing help on a subscription, with a readiness check before you submit is all you need. PeerReviewAI for the manuscript you are submitting, when references, checklist and journal formatting all need checking.

Method

How this review was made.

  • Sources: Paperpal's public pages, captured 12 September 2026, linked above. Prices as displayed.
  • Not done: no manuscripts were run through Paperpal; this page documents scope, price and stated policy, not output quality.
  • Conflict: PeerReviewAI competes with Paperpal, so every fact is a quote with a source link, on the same eight criteria we publish for ourselves.
Protected by Anthropic’s Zero Data Retention
Your manuscript is never stored, logged, or used for training.
FAQ

Questions, answered.

Don't see yours? Email us — we read every one.

Compare the reports, not the claims.

The full 16-section sample review is published, reference table and checklist audit included.

For the manuscript you're submitting